Skip to content

Travel eSIM review

What Is an eSIM? A Complete Guide to Globe eSIM for Travelers

An eSIM is a SIM profile stored in the phone, instead of a plastic card. Globe eSIM sells those profiles as prepaid data for a trip. This page reads their public catalog, prices, and policies. It is not a speed test and not a trip we took.

Published Catalog checked the same dayTravel Life Adventures

Review summary

Globe eSIM at a glance

Provider
Globe eSIM
Website
globeesim.com
Product type
Travel eSIM, data only
Coverage
201 country plans and 39 regional plans on the day we checked. Their site says 200+ countries.
Installation
QR code, or the SM-DP+ address and activation code typed by hand
Pricing
Set in US dollars on each plan. It changes with the destination, the data size, and the number of days.
Visit Globe eSIM

Travel Life Adventures does not run an affiliate program and does not earn a commission if you buy this plan. Affiliate disclosure.

What Is Globe eSIM?

Globe eSIM sells prepaid mobile data for travel. You choose a destination and a package, pay once, and add the plan to the phone as a second line. Their about page describes it that way: buy online, install before the flight, and get data on landing. The plans are aimed at someone who wants maps and messages abroad without turning on their home carrier’s roaming.

It is a data product. Across the catalog, the product descriptions said SMS was not included, and that calls were only through apps. Your usual number stays useful only if the phone can keep the home SIM switched on beside the eSIM. A phone with a single locked line cannot do that split.

Globe eSIM homepage with a destination search, popular countries including Japan and Spain, and an illustrated phone showing a USA data line
The Globe eSIM homepage on 4 November 2026. The phone on the right is their own illustration, not a capture of a checkout.

How Does Globe eSIM Work?

Their guide puts it in one sentence: the QR code is a key, not the data switch. Scanning it stores a profile. Using it is a later toggle. After you pay, the email carries the QR code and a backup code. On Wi-Fi the phone asks their server for the profile and lists a new line in settings. In the destination country that line attaches to a partner network.

The Japan product is the clearest example. It names NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, KDDI/au, and SoftBank, all marked 5G, and it says hotspot is included, with no speed cut on that plan. It also lists Hong Kong as the data exit country, which means traffic may leave through Hong Kong even though you are in Japan. Other products name other networks. If the page does not name one, do not invent it.

How to Buy a Globe eSIM

The purchase path on the site is short. Search a country, or open the destination catalog, choose a data size, and check out in the browser. You do not have to install their app first. The Japan page asks how many eSIMs you want, then shows Place the order. Prices on that page were in US dollars.

How to Install and Activate Globe eSIM

Install at home. Their guide, updated 30 October 2026, says you need an unlocked eSIM phone, trusted Wi-Fi, and the email. On iPhone: Settings, Cellular or Mobile Data, Add eSIM, Use QR Code, then label the line. On Android the path is under SIMs or SIM manager, and it is not the same on Samsung and Pixel. If the camera will not scan, type the SM-DP+ address and activation code from the email.

Leave the travel line’s data off until you land. Then make it the data line and turn roaming on for it. Roaming off on the home SIM is the part that keeps the home carrier from billing the maps. Roaming off on the Globe line is the part that makes a working eSIM look broken.

Is Globe eSIM Safe and Reliable?

The store is public, the plans show a price before payment, and the refund policy names [email protected]. Their homepage also advertises 24/7 support. We did not send a support message or complete a payment, so this is not a test of how fast anyone replies or how steady a network is.

Treat the QR code as a one-time key. Their install guide says that if someone else installs it first, your phone gets an error and you have to write in with the order number. Do not drop the code in a group chat. Reliability of the signal is the partner network on that plan, which is a different question from whether the shop itself is real.

Which Devices Support Globe eSIM?

Their install guide names iPhone XS and newer, Google Pixel 3 and newer, and recent Samsung Galaxy phones that show an eSIM setting. The FAQ adds a practical check: look for Add eSIM, or dial *#06# and see if an EID is listed. A phone bought on a contract can be locked even when the model is on that list. A work phone can be blocked by the company profile. Confirm before you pay. The old compatibility URL on their site now returns a 404, so the FAQ and the install guide are the pages to use.

Globe eSIM Review – Our Complete Overview

Taken as a catalog, Globe eSIM is a straightforward prepaid data shop. The useful pages are the destination grid, the plan chooser, and the refund policy. The marketing lines around them are less careful, and this review treats the product page as the fact and the banner as the claim.

The site. Search, country cards, and a plan grid are all in the browser. Popular chips on the homepage included Japan, the United States, France, Spain, and Indonesia. You can see the price before you create an account. We stopped at Place the order, so this is not a review of the payment screen.

The plans. They are sold by destination, data size, and days. The Japan chooser showed 1GB, 3GB, 5GB, 10GB, 20GB, and 50GB, with a day count on each card. Some sizes offer more than one duration. Nothing on that screen was labeled unlimited.

Destinations. The catalog said 201 destinations. The regional page said 39 regions. Both numbers matched the product feed: 201 single-country products and 39 multi-country products. Their FAQ’s “more than 200 countries” is the same neighborhood, not a second hidden list we could open.

Activation. Install on Wi-Fi, start the data line on arrival. The Japan page was specific: 180 days from purchase to begin, then the length you bought, such as 30 days. Their comparison page still says a plan might start on installation or on first connection. Read the sentence on the product, because those two descriptions are not identical.

Coverage. Each plan names partner networks when the provider has confirmed them. Japan’s list is four 5G networks. A homepage badge that says “Fast 5G” does not mean every country on the site is 5G, or that a named 5G network holds that speed indoors.

Support. The refund page gives [email protected] and asks for the order number, the plan name, and screenshots. The homepage says support is 24/7. We have no response-time measurement.

Refunds. The policy is conditional. A missing eSIM, a fault on their side, the wrong product, or an unused duplicate can be reviewed. An eSIM that has already been used, a locked phone, or the wrong country after delivery may not. The homepage comparison table says something simpler: a full refund within 30 days if you have not installed it. If you are buying because of that sentence, open the policy and keep both.

Globe eSIM destinations page showing a search field, 201 destinations available, and country cards with starting prices
The public destination catalog. The page itself said 201 destinations were available, with a “from” price on each card.

Globe eSIM Plans and Pricing

Prices below are the amounts published on Globe eSIM on 4 November 2026, in US dollars. They are examples, not a rate card you can hold us to next month. The plan page is the price.

Local eSIM Plans

A local plan is one country. Japan, Spain, France, and the United States are this type. They are the right buy when the trip does not cross a border. Japan’s 1GB plan for 7 days was $1.40. The United States plan of the same size and length was $1.80. Spain’s was $1.14. The gap is the point: the same label is not the same price.

Regional eSIM Plans

A regional plan is one installation for several countries, which suits a rail trip. It is also where the names get slippery. Europe (35 areas) at $1.24 for 1GB over 7 days and the product called Europe at $5.22 for the same size are both “Europe.” Only the country list tells you which trains you can take. Asia (20 areas) at $7.20 for 1GB over 7 days is the wider Asia product, not the cheaper 7-area one.

Globe eSIM regional plans page listing 39 regions, including Middle East from $9.80 and Asia plans from about $2
Regional plans. The page said 39 regions were available. Middle East was listed from $9.80.

Global eSIM Plans

Two global products were in the feed. Global (120+ areas) listed 1GB for 7 days at $9.20 and 1GB for 365 days at $14.00. A separate Global139 product was priced higher at the 1GB, 365-day size. “Global” here means the countries printed on that product, which their own FAQ says is not every country on earth. For a single-country week, the local plan was cheaper than either global 1GB plan.

Data Packages and Validity

Fixed data means the package ends when the gigabytes are gone or the days are gone, whichever comes first. A 10GB, 30-day Japan plan at $9.40 does not become unlimited on day 29. Their FAQ says unlimited plans exist in some places and can slow down after heavy daily use. We could not find one in the 240-product catalog, so do not buy a fixed plan expecting that clause to apply.

Validity on the Japan page was easier to read than the FAQ. You can wait up to 180 days to start. Once it starts, the clock is the length you bought. Install early. Start the data line when you actually need it. Hotspot use, which the product pages allowed, spends the same pile of data.

How Much Does Globe eSIM Cost?

There is no single daily rate. A short list of what the product data showed:

Example Globe eSIM prices in US dollars on 4 November 2026
PlanDataValidityPrice
Japan1 GB7 days$1.40
Japan10 GB30 days$9.40
Japan50 GB30 days$34.00
United States1 GB7 days$1.80
United States10 GB30 days$13.26
Spain1 GB7 days$1.14
France1 GB7 days$1.40
Europe (35 areas)1 GB7 days$1.24
Europe1 GB7 days$5.22
Asia (20 areas)1 GB7 days$7.20
Global (120+ areas)1 GB7 days$9.20
Global (120+ areas)1 GB365 days$14.00
Middle East1 GB7 days$9.80

Source: Globe eSIM product pages and the public product feed, 4 November 2026. Albania’s catalog card started at $0.60, so some countries go lower than this sample.

Japan eSIM plan chooser on Globe eSIM, with prices from $1.40 for 1GB to $34 for 50GB and a Place the order button
Japan plan chooser, before any payment details. The selected 50GB plan was $34.00 for 30 days, with 180 days to start it.

Globe eSIM Destinations – Where Can You Use It?

Use the plan only where that plan says it works. The cards below are countries Globe eSIM actually sells, linked to the product page, not to a guess. Where this site already has a destination guide, that link is separate.

Asia eSIM Plans

The Asia collection is the country list. Regional products sit beside it, and they are not interchangeable. Asia (7 areas) started at $3.24 for 1GB over 7 days. Asia (20 areas), which includes Japan, started at $7.20 for the same 1GB and 7 days. A wider list costs more. Read the flags on the product before you assume a stop is included. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

Europe eSIM Plans

There are several Europe products. Europe (35 areas) listed 1GB for 7 days at $1.24. The product simply named Europe listed the same 1GB and 7 days at $5.22. Those are different country lists. Pick the one that names every border you will cross, including a day trip. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

North America eSIM Plans

The United States and Canada each have country plans. A North America product is separate: 1GB for 7 days was $3.96, and 10GB for 30 days was $30.40. Use the country plan if you are staying in one of them. Use the regional plan only if the page lists both. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

South America eSIM Plans

Country plans exist alongside a South America (6 areas) product. That regional plan listed 1GB for 7 days at $5.28 and named Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Peru, Chile, and Ecuador on the product data. Other South American countries need their own check. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

Africa eSIM Plans

The Africa collection lists country plans. A multi-country Africa product listed 1GB for 7 days at $11.40, with a shorter menu than the Asia or Europe products: 1GB, 3GB, and 5GB on the day we checked. Morocco also has its own country plan. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

Middle East eSIM Plans

The destination catalog tabs are Europe, Americas, Asia, Oceania, and Africa. Middle East is a regional product, not one of those tabs. The regional catalog card said Middle East from $9.80 across 11 countries. The product we opened listed 1GB for 7 days at $9.80, 3GB for 30 days at $25.06, and 5GB for 30 days at $36.40. A separate Middle East & North Africa product is wider and more expensive. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

Oceania eSIM Plans

Australia and New Zealand have a shared product and their own country plans. Oceania (8 areas) is the wider one: 1GB for 7 days was $5.22, and the product data named Fiji, Nauru, Australia, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, New Zealand, Samoa, and Vanuatu. Open this list on Globe eSIM.

Globe eSIM Pros and Cons

The advantages are the ones the product pages support. The limits are the ones a traveler actually hits: the phone, the country list, and the wording of the refund.

Advantages

  • You install it on the phone. There is no plastic SIM to collect at the airport.
  • Plans are prepaid, with the data size, the number of days, and the price shown before checkout.
  • On a dual-SIM phone the home number can stay in the phone for texts and banking codes.
  • Country plans, regional plans, and two global products are all in the same catalog.
  • Every product page checked on 4 November 2026 listed hotspot as included.

Disadvantages

  • The phone must be unlocked and already able to store an eSIM. A locked phone is listed as a reason a refund may be refused.
  • Coverage is the partner network named on that plan, not a guarantee for every street or ferry.
  • The catalog we downloaded was fixed data. Their FAQ mentions unlimited plans, but no product was titled that way.
  • Four products said top-up was not available, and the FAQ says a new purchase arrives as a new eSIM rather than extra data on the same profile.
  • The homepage refund line and the written refund policy do not say the same thing.

Globe eSIM vs Other eSIM Providers

This is not a ranking. Each cell is what that company’s own site said when we read it on 4 November 2026. A blank-looking refund line means the homepage text did not state one. It does not mean the company refuses refunds. None of these notes is a reason to skip the plan page.

Globe eSIM compared with Airalo, Holafly, Nomad, and Jetpac using each provider’s public site
CoveragePricingData optionsActivationHotspotRefund
Globe eSIMThe site says more than 200 countries. On 4 November 2026 the catalog showed 201 country products and 39 regional products.A price in USD for each data size and validity. Japan 1GB for 7 days was $1.40.Fixed data, data only, no SMS. The FAQ mentions unlimited plans on some destinations. None of the 240 products was named unlimited.QR code by email and on the order page. Install on Wi-Fi. The Japan page gives 180 days to start the plan, then the purchased length runs.All 240 product descriptions said hotspot is included. Shared data still uses the allowance.The policy considers a refund if the eSIM never arrives, a fault is theirs, the product is wrong, or a duplicate was never used. Use usually ends the claim. The homepage table also says a full refund within 30 days if it was not installed. Read the policy.
AiraloThe homepage says local, regional, and global coverage for 200+ locations.Country cards showed a starting price, including Japan from $4.00. The data size behind that “from” price was not on the card.The homepage says flexible packages, including unlimited options, plus local, regional, and global plans.Buy on the website or in the app. Their help text says most plans start when the installed eSIM connects to a supported network at the destination.Not stated on the homepage text we checked.Not stated on the homepage text we checked. Use Airalo’s help center before you rely on a refund.
HolaflyThe homepage says 200+ destinations. One monthly plan on the same page is described as 160 destinations.Sold mainly as days of unlimited data, plus monthly plans. A 25GB monthly plan and unlimited monthly plans were both on the homepage.Unlimited data is the lead offer. Their FAQ says the travel eSIM cannot make ordinary calls or send SMS.Install with the app or a QR code before you leave. They say to leave the line off until arrival, especially on a regional plan, then turn data roaming on.The monthly plan copy says hotspot is included. Confirm the day plan you actually open.Their FAQ says a refund can be requested if the phone is incompatible, the trip is canceled, or the connection fails. Approval can be full or partial.
NomadThe homepage says 200+ destinations.Country cards show a per-gigabyte starting figure, such as Japan from $0.70/GB. That is not a finished package price.Data plans by country and region. Some plans can take an add-on on the same eSIM, according to their how-it-works text.QR code or a one-tap install, then turn the line on at the destination with data roaming enabled.The homepage FAQ asks about hotspot. The answer was not in the text we retrieved.Not stated on the homepage text we checked.
JetpacThe homepage says 200+ destinations, and that one installed eSIM can be topped up for later trips.Packs are chosen by destination. The homepage did not publish one universal data price. Separate voice packs were advertised from $1.99.Data packs. Their FAQ says you get the data you buy, and gives an example of 20GB for 30 days. Ordinary SMS is not included.Install from the app and leave it off until you land. Their FAQ says a pack stays valid for 3 months after purchase, then starts when it connects overseas.Their FAQ says yes.The homepage advertises a 100% money-back guarantee and points to a refund policy. The conditions were not in the homepage text.

For a wider set of plan types, the best eSIM for travel guide lines up Globe eSIM with Saily, Sim Local, Holafly, Roamless, Airalo, and Nomad without prices or scores. The stay connected guide is the one to read if you are still deciding between roaming, a local SIM, and an eSIM.

How to Buy and Activate Globe eSIM

These steps follow Globe eSIM’s install guide and the Japan product page. They are instructions from the seller, not a purchase we completed.

  1. 1

    Visit Globe eSIM

    Open globeesim.com and use the destination search, or browse the catalog. The catalog page we captured said 201 destinations were available.

  2. 2

    Select your destination

    Choose one country, or a regional product if every stop on the route is named on that product. A cheaper Europe plan is not the same list as the dearer one.

  3. 3

    Choose the data plan

    Pick a size and a validity. Japan, for example, showed 1GB for 7 days at $1.40 and 50GB for 30 days at $34.00. The page also shows a per-gigabyte figure. Pay the package price, not that unit rate twice.

  4. 4

    Complete checkout

    The Japan page ends in a Place the order button and a secure-payment note. We did not open a payment form or enter any card details. Finish that step only on their site.

  5. 5

    Receive the QR code

    Their FAQ says the QR code appears on the order page when the eSIM is ready, and that they email it too. The install guide says to screenshot the email and keep the SM-DP+ address in case the camera scan fails.

  6. 6

    Install the eSIM

    Do this on Wi-Fi before you fly. On iPhone the guide says Settings, Cellular or Mobile Data, Add eSIM, then Use QR Code. Android menus differ. Samsung and Pixel are the examples they give.

  7. 7

    Activate data when you arrive

    Set Globe eSIM as the mobile-data line and turn data roaming on for that line only. Leave data roaming off on the home SIM if you want to avoid your carrier’s roaming rate. Their Japan page said you have 180 days from purchase to start, and that the plan length begins once it starts.

Globe eSIM installation guide titled How to Install an eSIM on iPhone and Android, updated 30 October 2026
Globe eSIM’s own installation guide, updated 30 October 2026. It covers the QR code and a manual SM-DP+ code.

Is Globe eSIM Worth It? Our Final Verdict

Globe eSIM is worth opening if you already know the phone is unlocked, you want a prepaid data package rather than a mystery roaming bill, and you are willing to read the country list. The catalog is large, the prices are printed in dollars, and the install path is a QR code on Wi-Fi. That is a clean fit for a week in one country, or for a regional plan whose flags match the route.

It is a weaker fit if you need ordinary calls or SMS on the travel line, if the phone is locked, or if you wanted an unlimited plan and cannot find that word on the product. A local SIM can still be the better buy on a long stay, when you want a local number and do not mind a shop. Your own carrier is the better buy when the destination is already inside the plan you pay for every month. Globe eSIM’s own comparison page says the same thing.

We are not calling it the best travel eSIM. Airalo, Holafly, Nomad, and Jetpac all publish 200-country claims and a different shape of plan. Match the data size, the days, the hotspot line, and the refund wording. Then buy the one that matches the trip.

Visit Globe eSIM

No commission. See the affiliate disclosure, the eSIM guides, and Globe eSIM’s refund policy.

Frequently Asked Questions About Globe eSIM

Answers follow Globe eSIM’s FAQ, install guide, product pages, and refund policy as they stood on 4 November 2026.

What is Globe eSIM?

Globe eSIM is a prepaid travel data plan sold as a digital SIM. You buy a country, regional, or global package on globeesim.com, install a profile on an unlocked eSIM phone, and use a partner network for mobile data. The plans we checked were data only: no SMS, and calls only through apps.

Is Globe eSIM legit?

Globe eSIM is a public store with product pages, a refund policy, and a support address at [email protected]. That shows a real checkout, not a blank landing page. This guide did not place an order, audit the company, or measure the network, so it is not a personal endorsement.

How does Globe eSIM work?

You pay for a data size and a number of days. Globe eSIM sends a QR code, which is an address for a profile stored on a server. The phone downloads that profile over Wi-Fi. At the destination you select it as the mobile-data line and turn data roaming on for that line. Their install guide says the home line can stay in the phone for your number.

Does Globe eSIM work worldwide?

No single plan is a promise of worldwide data. Their FAQ says there are plans for more than 200 countries, and that each plan works only in the countries it lists. A regional or global product is worldwide only for the names printed on it.

How many countries does Globe eSIM cover?

Globe eSIM’s own pages say more than 200 countries. On 4 November 2026 the destination catalog said 201 destinations were available, and the product feed contained 201 single-country products plus 39 multi-country products. Counts move when they add or remove a plan.

Does Globe eSIM offer unlimited data?

Their FAQ says some destinations have unlimited plans, usually with a fair-use slowdown after heavy daily use. The 240-product catalog downloaded the same day had no product titled unlimited. The plans on the country pages were fixed sizes, from 100MB up to 50GB or 100GB depending on the product. Open the destination and read the label.

Can I use WhatsApp with Globe eSIM?

Yes, as data. WhatsApp stays on the account you already have. Globe eSIM’s dual-SIM guide says to leave the home line on for SMS and bank codes, and to send maps, chat, and WhatsApp calls over the travel line. The eSIM itself does not include SMS.

Does Globe eSIM support hotspot?

Every product description in the catalog on 4 November 2026 said hotspot was included. Their homepage comparison is more cautious and says many plans allow it. Tethered use still draws down the same data allowance. If hotspot matters, read that line on the plan you are about to buy.

How long does Globe eSIM activation take?

Their FAQ says the QR code appears on the order page when the eSIM is ready, and that they email it as well. They do not publish a minute count. Installing the profile is separate from using data. Data starts when that line is selected and a partner network accepts it. The Japan page said the download is done on Wi-Fi before you fly.

Can I get a refund from Globe eSIM?

Sometimes. The refund policy says a request may be considered if the eSIM was not delivered, a technical fault is theirs, you received the wrong product, or you bought a duplicate that was never used. It says a refund may not be available after the eSIM is activated or used, if the phone is locked or has no eSIM, or if you bought the wrong country after delivery. Email [email protected] with the order number. The homepage comparison also claims a full refund within 30 days if the eSIM was not installed. That line is stronger than the policy page. Read the policy.

Which phones support Globe eSIM?

The phone has to be unlocked and able to store an eSIM. Their install guide says this generally means iPhone XS and newer, Google Pixel 3 and newer, and recent Samsung Galaxy phones that show an eSIM menu. Their FAQ says to look for Add eSIM in settings, or dial *#06# and see whether an EID appears. A locked phone can refuse the profile even when the hardware is fine.

Can I install Globe eSIM before traveling?

Yes. Their install guide tells you to scan the QR code on Wi-Fi at home and leave mobile data on your own SIM until you land. The Japan product page said you have 180 days from purchase to start the plan, and that the purchased length, such as 30 days, begins once it starts. Their comparison page still says a plan can start on installation or on first connection, depending on the product. Read the note on the plan you buy.